Mayor & City Council

Waseca operates under a charter form of government with citizens electing a mayor and six councilmembers to set policy for the City.

Waseca’s councilmembers serve terms of four-years, with three members being elected every two years. The mayor is elected at-large every two years. The mayor and council are elected on a non-partisan basis.

The City Council encourages citizen participation in the decision-making process. Whether it is through advisory boards and committees, telephone calls and letters, or electronic mail through the World Wide Web, the City Council sets policies based on the input and needs of its citizens.

City Council meetings are scheduled for the first and third Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers, located at 508 S. State Street.  Work Sessions are usually held at 6 p.m. preceding the City Council meeting.  These meetings are open to the public.  Residents are encouraged to attend or watch the meeting the following day on local cable access Channel 8 at 1 or 7 p.m.  To view the precinct map, please click here.

*missing from photo – Councilmember Arndt

To contact the Mayor or your Councilmember, please click here